2024 Spring Season

Here is information on Spring 2024 Ultimate for players in grades 5 through 8.

We run a hybrid program in the spring:

For 7th and 8th graders: Ultimate is an official spring sport at Amherst Regional Middle School. Players who attend ARMS (or are home schooled in the district) must register through the high school Athletic Department. All players will participate alongside the 5th and 6th graders in the Intramural League.

For 5th and 6th graders: Spring Ultimate consists of a 2 day/week Intramural League on Mondays and Thursdays. Players are divided into permanent teams early in the season. Sessions include skill and strategy training, and starting the third or fourth week the teams play a schedule of intramural games – each team plays a game against another intramural team at every session. All players will participate alongside the 7th and 8th graders in the Intramural League.

Travel Team: ARMS players (7th & 8th grade) also have the option to try out for the Travel Team. Tryouts take place in the first week of the season. In a typical year around 30 players try out and around 18 make the team. The Travel Team is a big commitment – in addition to playing in the Intramural League on Mondays and Thursdays, Travel Team players have practices or games on Tuesdays and Wednesdays as well as all-day tournaments on many Saturdays and Sundays.

The season will begin on Monday March 18.

Practices and games will go from 4:00 until 6:00.

Head Coaches for the spring season will be Jim Pistrang, Chris Cianfrani, and Chaitanya ‘CD’ Deshpande.

Need more information? See the FAQ page (link is above) or send an email to Jim Pistrang.


ARMS Intramural Schedule

All practices and games are from 4:00 to 6:00 at ARMS (the field behind the tennis courts) unless otherwise noted.

On game days each round lasts 40 minutes.

Mon Mar 18 4:00 PM practice at ARMS
Tue Mar 19 4:00 PM Travel Team Tryout at ARMS
Wed Mar 20 2:00 PM Travel Team Tryout at ARMS
Thu Mar 21 4:00 PM practice at ARMS
Fri Mar 22 4:00 PM Travel Team Tryout
Mon Mar 25 4:00 PM practice at ARMS
Thu Mar 28 4:00 PM practice at ARMS
Mon Apr 1 4:00 PM practice at ARMS
Thu Apr 4 4:00 PM practice at ARMS
Mon Apr 8 4:00 PM Intramural games at ARMS
— 4:20: TeamA v TeamB and TeamC v TeamD (TeamE captains’ practice)
— 5:10: TeamA v TeamD and TeamB v TeamE (TeamC captains’ practice)
Thu Apr 11 4:00 PM Intramural games at ARMS
— 4:20: TeamA v TeamC and TeamD v TeamE (TeamB captains’ practice)
— 5:10: TeamB v TeamC and TeamA v TeamE (TeamD captains’ practice)
Mon Apr 22 4:00 PM Intramural games at ARMS
— 4:20: TeamB v TeamD and TeamC v TeamE (TeamA captains’ practice)
— 5:10: TeamA v TeamB and TeamC v TeamD (TeamE captains’ practice)
Thu Apr 25 4:00 PM Intramural games at ARMS
— 4:20: TeamA v TeamD and TeamB v TeamE (TeamC captains’ practice)
— 5:10: TeamA v TeamC and TeamD v TeamE (TeamB captains’ practice)
Mon April 29 4:00 PM Intramural games at ARMS
— 4:20: TeamB v TeamC and TeamA v TeamE (TeamD captains’ practice)
— 5:10: TeamB v TeamD and TeamC v TeamE (TeamA captains’ practice)
Thu May 2 4:00 PM Intramural games at ARMS
— 4:20: TeamA v TeamB and TeamC v TeamD (TeamE captains’ practice)
— 5:10: TeamA v TeamD and TeamB v TeamE (TeamC captains’ practice)
Mon May 6 4:00 PM Intramural games at ARMS
— 4:20: TeamA v TeamC and TeamD v TeamE (TeamB captains’ practice)
— 5:10: TeamB v TeamC and TeamA v TeamE (TeamD captains’ practice)
Thu May 9 4:00 PM Intramural games at ARMS
— 4:20: TeamB v TeamD and TeamC v TeamE (TeamA captains’ practice)
— 5:10: TeamA v TeamB and TeamC v TeamD (TeamE captains’ practice)
Mon May 13 4:00 PM Intramural games at ARMS
— 4:20: TeamA v TeamD and TeamB v TeamE (TeamC captains’ practice)
— 5:10: TeamA v TeamC and TeamD v TeamE (TeamB captains’ practice)
Wed May 15 4:00 PM Girls game at ARMS
Thu May 16 4:00 PM intramural contests at ARMS
Mon May 20 4:00 PM intramural semi-finals at ARMS
Thu May 22 4:00 PM intramural finals at ARMS

go to top of page

Intramural Standings

go to top of page

Intramural Rosters (* = captain)

Team 1  

 

Team 2

 

Team 3

 

Team 4

 

Team 5

 

Contest Winners

SprintDistanceAccuracy

Boys 4th/5th/6th
Boys 7th
Boys 8th
Girls 4th/5th/6th
Girls 7th/8th
The winners!

go to top of page

ARMS Travel Team Roster (* = captain)

go to top of page

ARMS Travel Team Schedule and Game Results

ScoreReport Link

All practices and games are from 4:00 to 6:00 at ARMS unless otherwise noted

Travel Team tryouts will be held on Tuesday March 19, Wednesday March 20, and Friday March 22. Candidates must attend at least two tryouts (three is better).

Schedule as of Mon Jan 29, 2024, subject to change.


Tue Mar 26 4:00 PM practice  at ARMS
Wed Mar 27 4:00 PM practice  at ARMS
Tue Apr 2 4:00 PM practice  at ARMS
Wed Apr 3 4:00 PM practice  at ARMS
Tue Apr 9 4:00 PM game vs PVCICS MS at ARMS
Wed Apr 10 4:00 PM practice  at ARMS
Sat Apr 20 10:00 AM Hotchkiss Tournament at Hotchkiss School **
Tue Apr 23 4:00 PM game vs ARHS Boys JV B at ARMS
Wed Apr 24 4:00 PM practice  at ARMS
Sat Apr 27 9:00 AM ARMS Tournament at GCC **
Tue Apr 30 4:00 PM game vs Four Rivers MS at ARMS
Wed May 1 4:00 PM practice  at ARMS
Sat May 4 9:00 AM Amherst Invite at MacDuffie **
Sun May 5 9:00 AM Amherst Invite at MacDuffie **
Tue May 7 4:00 PM game vs Four Rivers MS at Four Rivers CS
Wed May 8 4:00 PM game vs Northampton HS JV at ARMS
Tue May 14 4:00 PM game vs Hartsbrook MS at ARMS
Wed May 15 4:00 PM Girls’ Game at ARMS
Sat May 18 9:00 AM PVI at Oxbow **
Sun May 19 9:00 AM PVI at Oxbow **
Tue May 21 4:00 PM game vs PVCICS MS at ARMS
Wed May 22 4:00 PM practice  at ARMS
Sat May 25 10:00 AM Travel to Maine at Portland ME **
Sun May 26 9:00 AM Maine Tournament at Portland ME **
Tue May 28 4:00 PM game vs Hartsbrook MS at ARMS
Wed May 29 4:00 PM game vs ARHS Boys JV B at ARMS
Thu May 30 4:00 PM practice  at ARMS
Sat Jun 1 9:00 AM MS States at Oxbow **
Sun Jun 2 9:00 AM BUDA MS at Devens **
Tue Jun 4 4:00 PM game vs Hilltown at ARMS
Wed Jun 5 4:00 PM practice  at ARMS
Thu Jun 6 4:00 PM practice  at ARMS
Mon Jun 10 4:00 PM practice  at ARMS
Tue Jun 11 4:00 PM practice  at ARMS
Wed Jun 12 4:00 PM practice  at ARMS
Thu Jun 13 4:00 PM practice  at ARMS

 

** All Day Event

go to top of page

ARMS Travel Personal Stats

A note about stats: Stats are fun, but misleading. Ultimate is a true team sport, and goals are rarely scored, and games are rarely won, by one or two players. Strong defense, great mid-field offense, and many other contributions to the team effort do not appear in the stats below. The stats are fun to look at, but true credit for ‘the winners’ goes to every member of the team.

Assists (10 or more)

Goals (15 or more)